Here Be Lions
Here Be Lions Podcast
Love in the time of climate change
0:00
-1:04:29

Love in the time of climate change

Or: how community will save us
A photo taken by my sweet friend Leah on a trip to Denver where I used my “love miles.”

Dear Friends,

Damn, has it been a dark winter. I feel like a bunch of my closest friends have been going through some dark shit these last few months. It’s been a bit of a bummer.

And yet… Monday was the equinox and my yard is beginning to unfurl and release her tender, spring flowers. I can smell new life every time I leave my house.

✨Listen to the 🌍 playlist ✨

On Monday the UN released another climate report. It’s bad. Very bad. But not unexpected. I’ve been sitting on a conversation I had with my friend, Huan Manton, in January about Climate Change and our responsibilities as individuals. Now seems like the perfect time to share it with you all.

We talk about a lot of things but the heart of the conversation hinges on this truth:



"It’s warming.

It’s us.

We’re sure. It’s Bad.

We can fix it.”

- Kimberly Nicholas, Phd.


I want to focus on this part:

We can fix it.

How can we fix it, you might ask?

Through community and through love (along with some more practical solutions).

Going forward, it is our choices that will define us. And first, let’s choose love, let’s choose community.

Huan always makes me feel more hopeful and I hope he will make you feel more hopeful too.

Love,
Sammie

0 Comments
Here Be Lions
Here Be Lions Podcast
energizing chaos into what we hold
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sammie Downing